The arcane mage soft haste cap and why its important to reach it

Hey everyone,

I apologize for the lack of content lately. I have been extremely busy, but I promise to get back on a regular update of content starting now. Lets get down to business shall we?

Today we are going to talk about the soft haste cap for arcane mages in 4.2, why its important to reach this cap, and what the cap actually is. The arcane soft haste cap is based around bloodlust or heroism or timewarp :). The idea is to get your haste high enough so when bloodlust/heroism/timewarp is popped your arcane blast 4 stack cast will be exactly 1 second. Now your first question is why is this important. With tons of intellect being added due to firelands gear haste and mastery are extremely competitive. Having a one second arcane blast time during lust will surely give you a really nice dps boost during your burn phase. A lot of people have asked me why 1.0 seconds exactly? Why not less than 1 second? If your arcane blast cast time goes below 1 second you will be doing what is called Global cooldown clipping. If your cast time goes below 1 second its actually a dps loss. Since there is a global cooldown between arcane blast casts your actually losing cast time. So remember the goal is one second. The next question is what are the haste ratings required to reach these levels.

If you have your tier 11 4 piece bonus the haste rating required is 857. If your a goblin its 712. 4 piece tier 11 gives you a 10% cast reduction time on arcane blast so you can basically reforge everything into mastery and get pretty close. Probably a little bit over the cap depending on what gear you have. Before I picked up my tier 12 4 piece i had 10% haste and almost 29% mastery. With those numbers I was able to keep up with mages who had a much higher gear level then I did 🙂

If you don’t have the tier 11 4 piece bonus haste should be your primary secondary stat until soft cap. If you’re not a goblin the soft haste cap rating is 1767. If your a gobin its 1624.

So remember your stat priorities should be INT > HIT TO CAP > Haste to SOFT CAP > MASTERY > CRIT

if anyone has any questions feel free to email me at propayne@stateofmage.com or leave a comment.

Until next time,

Propayne

This entry was posted in Mage Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The arcane mage soft haste cap and why its important to reach it

  1. Josh says:

    I have a question/concern regarding the haste values that are listed to reach the soft haste cap. I have been to several different sites and the numbers seem to vary quite a bit. My current haste rating is 1718 and with the 5% raid buff and a 4 stack of ab under TW my ab tooltip reads 1 sec exactly. Any ideas what could be accounting for this discrepancy?

    • Propayne says:

      Are you displaying two digits after the decimal? If not grab quartz and choose that option. It’s probably at like 1.05. If you are displaying double digits after the decimal you have stumped me. I would have to research that. Let me know either way. Thanks for your comment.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Josh says:

        Yes two decimal points are being displayed as my base cast time of AB is 1.71. Also just for further analysis i popped zerking under TW and with the raid buff and my cast time dipped to like .74 or something like that. I have wracked my brain trying to figure out why the soft haste cap ratings differ so greatly and have yet to come up with anything solid. I appreciate your effort in this matter. I do realize that a difference of 49 is rather immaterial but any excess haste i can reforge to mastery is nice. Especially since i finally got my first piece of H T12 and can finally look forward to stacking mastery instead of mass amounts of haste.

      • Propayne says:

        What’s your tions name and realm on armory?

  2. Josh says:

    Name Capoeira on Chogall US

    • Propayne says:

      Very strange indeed. I use mage nuggets and during raid I sit with 22.21% haste. With lust that gives me 1.00 second casts. When I have my haste lower it raised my cast time. This is very odd to say the least.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Josh says:

    Well tbh i have lost faith in most addons, reforging sites, etc. The results seem to be very erratic at best. Also I assumed the haste ratings you listed were under the umbrella of the +5% raid buff as well. I just read on another site where the rating for the soft cap was over 800 so the math behind calculating the soft haste seems to differ. Just noticed something rather unusual. After i build my 4 AB stack the tool tip reads 1 sec….no decimals. But my base cast time is given with two decimals. Perhaps, for whatever reason, rounding is taking place. At any rate tyvm for your time and efforts.

  4. Orlando says:

    can u check mi char ples Gusi @Ragnaros Us, ples and still s**king in dps really dont know why, ples can help me i think the staff isnt helping i think need volcanospike and molten feed to get hit without reforging some other stats in gear and stack mastery??? can u help me ples and my haste % is over of what u said is it ok? or is it a waste?? thanks

  5. I think this is one of the so much vital information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on some basic things, The web site taste is great, the articles is truly nice : D. Good task, cheers

  6. Pathe says:

    Hello there!,

    I have been looking all over the net to find the exact stats wights (in numbers not as a prio list) and was wondering whether some1 here can give me a hand with that. Furthermore, i saw your stats prio list, which is awesome and very helpful, but how does it change with t13? does the soft cap stay at 1718 or does it go down by 500?

    Cheers

  7. Drakkul says:

    Well I read your guide thanks i was under 1 sec and still not getting up where i should be so now at 1769 haste i can get my ab at 1.01 seconds that is also counting the time lord gear 2 piece which gives 500 haste on top of that after 10 abs.
    Also I didnt put in the 5% bonus from raid so I maybe under even that 1.01 sec, I will be at 1.005 sec so its perfect. I Have been searching for that soft cap number for some time people cant seem to just tell you that number from there you can easily figure this out.

  8. Eveningrain says:

    I’m confused, you all say 1769, I’m a Dren. arcane Mage, and my haste is 23.74 % or rating 2579, where does this fall into the realm of things ?

Leave a Reply

